The Elevator Anthem – Amberlin, Lakewood

20131203-005007.jpg

This is a very unique post, since it’s not a review, it’s more of an announcement.

Years ago I realized I wanted to make music, but I never really felt capable of doing it.
I always seemed to have a special connection with music and everything around it. It’s a very deep and personal subject for me. Somehow I knew I’d end up doing something related to the art business, whether it was writing, composing, managing or producing for a band.

It turned out to be a little of all of them. I tried to study Musical Production and I lasted a semester, I couldn’t handle the pressure of competition, because for me…music is not about competing.

This year has been all about writing poetry and songs for a project called The Elevator Anthem (comes from Frightened Rabbit’s State Hospital).
At first, I had no idea where I was going with this and I couldn’t choose a single genre or style.
Then I found bands like Lights & Motion, Collections of Colonies of Bees and Endless Melancholy, and it just clicked…post-rock and ambient music are the genres I feel more comfortable making.

So I began the long process of composition, thinking I was going to get it right the first time. And after a year, I realized you can’t demand yourself too much when you haven’t done it before. You have to learn to walk the road at your own pace.

Not long ago, I wrote a few songs that I actually liked and felt were worth the effort. I am now working very hard to finish and record them.

You must be wondering why I placed that photo (I took it years ago) at the beginning, right?
I thought this was the right time to announce The Elevator Anthem’s first official release: Amberlin, Lakewood EP.
I cannot give you a release date, cause I honestly don’t know how long the “writing/arranging/recording/producing” process will be.
All I can give you is a tracklist:
(It might change eventually, but settle with it)
1.- Amberlin Part I
2.- Lakewood, LA
3.- Amberlin Part II
4.- Tenderness

I’m very excited to show you guys the single, but I can’t until next year. I am going to build a home studio in 2014 just for this project.

Thank you for reading (if you made it this far) and sorry for the long post!

Signing off,
Philip Everett

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

