Best Songs of 2014! FINALLY!

I’m not gonna make you wait more, so here’s how it’ll work: I’ll write in ascending order, which means I’ll start by the bottom of my list. Thirty songs made it to the list, while others were just left aside as “honourable mentions”. That doesn’t mean they’re inferior, just couldn’t place them right!
I’ll write a little text below each song, to explain my reasons. Nothing long, don’t worry. I’ll make it worth your time!!

Honourable Mentions (This won’t include texts):

1.- Keaton Henson // Elevator Song
2.- Bon Iver // Heavenly Father
3.- A Sunny Day In Glasgow // Crushin’
4.- Rumour Cubes // Seven Year Glitch
5.- U137 // The Poet
6.- Dakota Suite & Quentin Sirjacq // This Is My Way of Saying That I Am Sorry
7.- Firekites // Closing Forever Sky
8.- Prawn // Glass, Irony
9.- …Of Sinking Ships // It’s Easier With No Destination
10.- This Patch of Sky // Time Destroys Everything, But Our Foundation Remains

The 30 Best Songs of 2014:

-A couple don’t have texts below because I got tired of writing….my bad-

30.- The Handsome Family // Far From Any Road
– Some of you might recognise this tune from a show called True Detective (cause that’s the only place you’ll hear it). A deep-voiced country song, filled with subtle details.

29.- The Pains of Being Pure At Heart // Simple and Pure
Just figured it deserved a spot around here…

28.- S.Carey // Glass/Film
– I still wonder why I put this one at such a low spot. Really a great song, reflects the evolution of a musician who’s worked with probably one of the best in the business for a long time: Justin Vernon.

27.- Coldplay // Midnight
– This song comes out of a breakup and listening to the Volcano Choir discography repeatedly. Evidence that Chris Martin is a huge Vernon fan. Check out “Woods” or “Still”, you’ll understand what I mean.

26.- Yuki Murata // A White Bird
– Minimalistic track, a real surprise for me when I found it online. What can I say, I’m a huge fan of minimalistic piano tunes.

25.- J Mascis // Every Morning
– The Dinosaur Jr. frontman shows a different shade of his songwriting, exploiting the acoustic guitar and pumping out his famous soloing style. Lovely.

24.- Hundred Waters // Murmurs
– Florida-based electro-folk project that impressed me with their debut record and now even more with their sophomore attempt. A band to look out for, extremely careful songwriting.

23.- OK Go // The Writing’s On The Wall
– The pop band OK Go have once again demonstrated their ability to create a compelling and catchy tune without destroying the foundation of pop itself.

22.- Good Weather For An Airstrike // Lungs
– An ambient song worthy of reaching my list…truly astonishing work of art. Great to listen when you’re alone and in pain.

21.- Tweedy // Low Key
– Jeff and Spencer’s blood connection is notorious. There are things only father and son can do and this is one. Low Key reflects the true essence of their debut album Sukierae.

20.- Augie March // Villa Adriana

19.- The Rosebuds // In My Teeth

18.- Phish // Fuego
– These guys were once the ONLY band I listened to. I remember listening to Secret Smile from Undermind and crying like a baby. It is a different album, but Fuego just exceeded my expectations so much! Outstandingly complex song to perform (but then again, it’s Phish, they can do ANYTHING).

17.- Owl John // Cold Creeps
– Not sure if this is the Scott Hutchison songwriting style I like the most, but I do freakin like it. He’s at his creative peak, you could say.

16.- The Shins // So What Now
– Mercer’s contribution to Zach Braff’s Wish I Was Here couldn’t have been better. Kudos to the god of pop.

15.- Owl John // Red Hand

14.- Alcest // Wings + Opale
– Yeah, a 2×1! It’s basically one song, so I don’t care what y’all say. A true post-rock gem.

13.- Broken Bells // A Perfect World
– There is one thing you can’t deny about Danger Mouse and James Mercer: they got the groove. For some artists it takes ages to create a hook, but these guys made an album based on neo-psych-pop hooks and cheeky bass lines. Admirable.

12.- Maybeshewill // In Amber
– Instrumental post-rock at its best. It’s one of those tracks you just understand, without really knowing what it means to the writer(s).

11.- Lights & Motion // Winter
– Part of the Holiday Visions compilation, one of the most perfect EPs I’ve heard. If Franzén was trying to describe a season, he fucking pulled it off. Perfect song.

10.- Eels // Mistakes of My Youth
– Mark Oliver Everett reached that point in life that I’m unable to understand. Well, he is like 30 years older. Things get better when you can admit what you’ve done wrong and sorta laugh about the whole event. Here’s to growing up!

9.- Modern Baseball // Fine, Great
– One sentence: “Youth-minded/immature emo isn’t dead”.

8.- Cassie // Old Light
– Old Light is what happens when you blend Finnish post-rock with a rough night of booze and despair. The second part is absolutely amazing and unexpected, I still get the chills listening to the vocals at the end. Quite a memorable track.

7.- Damon Albarn // Parakeet
– You all know I love a good interlude and Parakeet is my fav of 2014. Indescribable, to be honest. A must hear.

6.- Augie March // Definitive History
– Yet another amazing Australian band (they have like 5 other records and I had NO idea) that managed to catch my attention. Definitive History will most certainly become an anthem for me. The vocals and lyrics are marvellous, by the way.

5.- Foster The People // Pseudologia Fantastica
– Mark Foster’s band clearly took their time to think this one through. I consider it a swirl of Tame Impala and FTP’s electro-pop origins. Worth the wait.

4.- Beck // Waking Light
– Beck’s return to the music world could not be more well-timed. I needed a perfect mix between harmony and melody. Waking Light might be Beck’s masterpiece.

3.- Cold Body Radiation // Slowly Falling From The Sky
– CBR has become one of my favourite projects this year. The previous albums are way darker musically, but this one is darker emotionally and the fact you can’t really understand what he’s saying makes it even more shocking to hear. No way of describing thoroughly the genre, I guess you’ll have to listen to it yourself.

2.- Go-qualia // White
– I know, why an IDM song would reach my 2nd spot? Easy, it’s the most basic, yet intelligent electronic track of the year.

1.- Sun Kil Moon // Carissa
– It takes courage to write a song about a second cousin you didn’t really know, that burned to death in a freak accident taking out the trash. Mark Kozelek’s Benji may be the greatest life/death folk album of the 00s. It’s only natural that Carissa becomes the anthem for people with a deep love for life, even though it may seem they don’t enjoy it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

